Abigail Roux | Touch & Geaux

Title: Touch & Geaux | Cut & Run #7

Author: Abigail Roux

Publishing Date: April 8, 2013

Publisher: Riptide Publishing

Buy: Riptide Publishing | Amazon

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ / 5 blissful hearts

 

Blurb:

After having their faces plastered across the news during a high-profile case, FBI Special Agents Ty Grady and Zane Garrett have become more useful to the Bureau posing for photo ops than working undercover. Just as Zane is beginning to consider retirement a viable option, Ty receives a distress call from a friend, leading them to a city rife with echoes from the past.

New Orleans wears its history on its streets, and it’s the one place Ty’s face could get him killed. Surrounded by trouble as soon as they land, Ty and Zane are swiftly confronted with a past from which Ty can’t hide—one with a surprising connection to Zane’s.

As threats close in from all directions, both men must come to terms with the lives they’ve led and the lies they’ve told. They soon discover that not all their secrets are out yet, and nothing lasts forever.

→ ♥ ←

Review:

I have always had mixed feelings about Cut & Run, but overall I have always loved the books. They have depth, the characters are flawed and human and the sarcastic tone is hitting right where it should in my world.

However, I could also feel that Ms. Roux has had her own fight on her hands, when she was left alone with this series. It was clear in the last book (a review will come soon for the whole series) that she had written Ty Grady and Ms. Urban had been the main drive behind Zane Garrett. I can understand how an author can love one character – we all do – but when it shows through the pages, I tend to be quite peeved about it. Perhaps because I have called myself a Zane Girl from the beginning, but who knows.

Therefore it was both with excitement and apprehension that I picked up Touch & Geaux. I knew from all the evil teasing Ms. Roux had done through her Tumblr that I was in for an angst and emotional rollercoaster ride. However, much as I claim to despise angst I live on it when it comes to book. Whenever I feel like my whole body have been through the grinder and I have cried soundlessly with everything in me, I know it has been a good book. I know it has been a bloody fantastic book!

Touch & Geaux is a bloody fantastic book with witty dialouge and cry worth pages.

Zane gritted his teeth and slammed his palm against the
wall. “Tell me the truth or I walk!”
(Touch & Geaux, page 135)

Rather quickly – taking the former books into consideration – we gain insight into the secrets Ty has been keeping from Zane. And we are not talking small little secrets here. These could make or break their relationship and while running rampant with Ty’s Force Recon guys in the celebration of Sanches’ death they have to deal with the fall out of these secrets. Needless to say, it does not go as planned.

In comes an old ‘friend’ of Ty’s and creates even more havoc in the already strained company. Gathering old contacts from Zane’s past in the city as well, you are in for a treat of a action packed and angst filled book, but handled with the same love and care as all the others.

What this book does that probably qualifies it as the best in the series so far is that everything is coming to head here. We’re nearing the end for the series in a whole and we always have the xlimax before we can take a breather with the ending, yeah? This book is the high for me.

The action is delivered with scaring precision and has been written as if it was taken directly from an action movie, but without having a forced feeling to it.

The characters, though. Phew. I can try and describe them to the best of my meager skills but nothing will do them justice before you read the book yourself.

Ty and Zane. If they have seemed almost like a pair of immortal warriors before, they are not that any longer. Far from it. Touch & Geaux portrays them as the humans they are and as flawed as they both are. It brings back Zane’s problems with alcohol and Ty’s fear of losing people he loves and triples it in angst. You sit with each new page and hope they will make it through it, while dread is creeping in from behind with its ice cold hand around your shoulder.

Nick O’Flaherty has always been a torn in my side. I have never liked him and had doubts about I ever would. This book manages to turn him into a likeable character for me and one I would love to read more about. Perhaps because there is next to no tension between him, Ty and Zane, which means that somewhere they fixed their problems. Or perhaps because he accepted the relationship between Ty and Zane and Zane has grown more confidident in his own skin and with Ty? I cannot say, but I can say it helped a long way with my feelings towards him.

The rest of the Recon Team is as crazy as we have always been told they were and your fondness for them will grew with each new passage in this book.

Nick lifted his head. “Killing off the people you love is the way I’d go.”
“Dude, you’re getting creepier since you came out,” Kelly muttered.
Nick winked at him.
(Touch & Geaux, page 152)

“Thank Christ,” Kelly grumbled. He raised his hands,
rubbing at one wrist and dropping his handcuffs to the floor.
“What the hell, man?” Nick whispered.
“What? They were too tight.”
Digger dropped his cuffs to the floor with a clank that
echoed through the station. “If he’s not wearing his, neither
am I.”
(Touch & Geaux, page 172)

Forgive me for going overboard with the quotes from these guys, but they are the ones who will make you laugh. They are like brothers, teasing, poking, prodding and ribbing each other with a gleam in their eyes.

If you have yet to pick up this book, the only thing I can say is: What are you waiting for?!

The ending will drive you mad and you’ll be sitting on the edge until the next book has been released – or Ms. Roux plays havoc with your feelings with new teasers.

I for one enjoyed this book and I believe Ms. Roux has finally figured all her characters out and how they interact with each other. Going to make for an exciting read with the last couple of books in this amazing series, which will probably be one of the most read, most loved and most well written M/M Mystery Romance reads I have ever read.

“You travel with full assault gear?” Ty asked.
“You don’t?”
(Touch & Geaux, page 235)

Leave a Reply

