Heidi Cullinan | Dirty Laundry

Title: Dirty Laundry | Tucker Springs #3

 Author: Heidi Cullinan

 Publishing Date: January 28th, 2013

 Publisher: Riptide Publishing

 Buy: Riptide Publishing

 Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥   / 4.5 blissful hearts

 

 

Blurb:

The course of true love doesn’t always run clean. But sometimes getting dirty is half the fun.

Entomology grad student Adam Ellery meets Denver Rogers, a muscle-bound hunk of sexy, when Denver effortlessly dispatches the drunken frat boys harassing Adam at the Tucker Springs laundromat. Thanking him turns into flirting, and then, much to Adam’s delight, hot sex over the laundry table.

Though Denver’s job as a bouncer at a gay bar means he gets his pick of geek-sexy college twinks, he can’t get Adam out of his head. Adam seems to need the same rough play Denver does, and it’s damn hard to say no to such a perfect fit.

Trouble is, Adam isn’t just shy: he has obsessive compulsive disorder and clinical anxiety, conditions which have ruined past relationships. And while Denver might be able to bench-press a pile of grad students, he comes from a history of abuse and is terrified of getting his GED. Neither Denver nor Adam want to face their dirty laundry, but to stay together, they’re going to have to come clean.

This title is part of the Tucker Springs universe.

→ ♥ ←

Review:

While Dirty Laundry is part of the Tucker Springs universe it can easily be read as a stand alone, although you may not get all the small hints about the secondary characters.

I read the excerpt at Riptide Publishing’s website before buying this book; I did enjoy the other books in the series, but they never really made an impact on me. They were enjoyable, but that was about it.

Dirty Laundry is a highly enjoyable book, but it digs deeper and tells a story about illness and how to overcome it – in a sense, mind you. OCD, which is what Adam has, is not exactly something you can overcome from one day to the other; far from it. Even with the help of medicine and psychiatrists most people suffering from it will have to live to live every day with it. Having said that, Heidi Cullinan manages to write a book about it so believable that it is clear to see she has some knowledge on the subject – whether it is deep research or she has experienced it, I cannot say nor am I interested in it, but it does hold value with me that an author bothered to truly dig deep into what she is writing about. It shows dedication and respect, which is something that any mental illnesses have to be treated with.

Not to have this review turn into a longer tale about OCD, author research and what not, but it is important to point these little details out. Mostly because it in my case gives me the chance to write a much better review about this book than had it been superficial research.

Getting to what actually caught my interest about this book, I have to say the sex scene in the excerpt. I am a sucker for well written sex scenes, as those leave a great impact on me as well. This sex scene? Well written, explicit and delicious. It had everything I could ask for when it comes to sex over the laundry table in public. The first signs of the BDSM theme is also being presented here, which creates the foundation for the rest of the book.

Adam, our geeky university student, was adorable to say the least. Having gone through a bad break up with an ex who was still hunting him down any chance possible, he fell hard for the McDream Cowboy Denver. Afraid of the past happening all over again, he is afraid to initiate contact after the encounter at the laundromat, so Denver takes that into his own hands.

These two men are polar opposites, but doesn’t we usually say that opposites attract? That is at least the case in this story. But it creates a great dynamic between the two protagonists and makes for a witty and interesting dialouge between them.

I have always loved my geeky characters and with the amount of BDSM books I have read so far it is safe to say that it another little kinky love of mine. Blending these two together makes a very happy gal and it was with that excitement I picked up the book. That there are tattoos in the mix, too, makes me even more delighted.

I was not disappointed.

Dirty Laundry is definitely a well written book, as Riptide Publishing is slowly but surely getting known for creating, funny at times and makes you go all gooey and ‘aaaaw’ inside at other times.

“Adam could imagine what he looked like: a debauched nerd.”
(Dirty Laundry)

My only little pet peeve is again the females. I have never been a fan and never will be of them in the M/M genre. Might make a hypocrite considering I am a female myself, but I know what annoys me about my own gender. Besides, I like men. I want to read about men and men getting it on *wink wink*

One comment on “Heidi Cullinan | Dirty Laundry

Leave a Reply

